Senate leadership gets another term; committee elections end May 5

Elections for University Senate officers and Faculty Assembly representatives concluded on April 16.

No changes were made among the officers, who all ran unopposed, but some schools saw some changes to their Faculty Assembly representatives.

Senate officers serve a one year-term and can serve for three consecutive years. Faculty Assembly and committee seats have a three-year term. The Faculty Assembly positions are split between different schools. 

Senate committee elections began April 23 and will finish on May 5.

Senate officers

President: Chris Bonneau, professor of Political Science, who will be entering his third term

Vice President: David Salcido, research assistant professor in Emergency Medicine, entering his second term

Secretary: Gosia Fort, head of Digital Resource Development in the Health Science Library System, entering her second term

Frank Wilson, assistant vice president for Academic Affairs at Pitt–Greensburg, will continue as immediate past president.

Representatives to Faculty Assembly

Arts & Sciences, Humanities: Lorraine Denman (French and Italian Languages & Literatures) and Elizabeth Oyler (East Asian Languages & Literatures)

Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences: Jeffrey Newman (Physics)

Arts & Sciences, Social Sciences: Mark Paterson (Sociology) and Gabby Yearwood (Anthropology)

Business: Eric Paljug

Education: Max Schuster

Health Science Library System: Angela Zack

Law: Linda Tashbook​​​​​​​

Medicine: Maria Kovacs, John Maier and Maria Pacella-Labarbara​​​​​​​

Nursing: Jenna Bench

Pharmacy: Shilpa Sant​​​​​​​

Public Health: Jeanine Buchanich​​​​​​​

Computing and Information: Alexandros Labrinidis   

Healthy and Rehabilitation Sciences: Kevin Conley

— Donovan Harrell


Have a story idea or news to share? Share it with the University Times.

Follow the University Times on Twitter and Facebook.